Project details

Supporting agricultural Innovation (EIP-Agri) and Cooperation in the Federal State Hesse

With the new funding-period 2014 – 2020 the European Union implements for the first time the approach of “European Innovation Partnerships” (EIP). This funding-concept should close the gap between science and practical implementation to develop innovative solutions which face the challenges of a sustainable agriculture. Scientific, agricultural and agricultural-related stakeholders combined in a so called “Operational Group” (OG) are working together on innovative solutions concerning specific issues. Basis of the funding is the directive of the state of Hesse for funding innovation and cooperation in Agriculture and rural Area” (RL-IZ). Beside EIP-Agri different partial measures are designed. The cooperation measures are fostering projects targeting the subjects of short value chains and local markets or to reduce and adopt climate change as well as local strategies which are not included in already existing measures of local development programs (CLLD, LEADER).

As “Hessian Innovation Service Provider for Agriculture and rural Area” (IDL-Hesse), the IfLS assists the Operational Groups and cooperations in preparing the application forms as well as in connecting the different actors of science, consulting and practice. Additionally the IfLS assisted the “The Hessian Ministry of Environment, Climate Protection, Agriculture and Consumer Protection (HMUKLV)” with the coordination and implementation of the EIP-Agri-Funding (measure 16.1 ELER) and further cooperation projects (measure 16.4, 16.5, 16.7 ELER).

Further information:

On behalf of:

The Hessian Ministry of Environment, Climate Protection, Agriculture and Consumer Protection (HMUKLV)

Project no.: 



Consulting | EIP-Hessen | Knowledge and innovation |


The Hessian Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection, Agriculture and Consumer Protection


2014 - 2020

Contact person/s at IfLS: 

Dr. Ulrich Gehrlein, Svea Thietje

Project management: 

Dr. Ulrich Gehrlein, Svea Thietje, Oliver Müller